Pay it Forward: The Author Edition

June 21st, 2011

Congratulations, Suzanne Young! :)

Her fabulous book, A Need So Beautiful, releases today! Suzanne is such a sweetie and to celebrate her book’s birthday, I’m participating in a blog tour and giving away a special prize.

A Need So Beautiful is about Charlotte, an angel of the Forgotten who feels the Need – a powerful urge to help someone usually a stranger.

Like Charlotte, an amazing author took time out of her busy schedule to help me – a stranger. We exchanged emails. She sent me book suggestions to help strengthen my writing. She assisted me with my agent decision. She gave me priceless advice like – ‘force yourself to write everyday’ and ‘the only thing you can control in this business is your writing’. Advice I still use today. In fact, I don’t think it was an accident that after her selfless help, I snagged my first book deal. I’m forever grateful to this incredible author and person. :)

To ‘pay it forward’ today, I’m giving away a first chapter critique and a Skype chat here. Hopefully, I can help someone like my author mentor helped me. :) Thanks, Alyson Noel! :)

There are a ton of other authors and bloggers participating in this release day special and giving away lots of fabulous prizes. Check out the links below.

First 3 chapter critique (Jessica at Confessions of a Bookaholic: http://www.totalbookaholic.com/)

YA Lit Swag Bag (Sara at Novel Novice: www.novelnovice.com <http://www.novelnovice.com/> )

Hourglass Order from TBD – Int (Corrine at Lost for Words: http://lostforwords-corrine.blogspot.com <http://lostforwords-corrine.blogspot.com/> )

Random Books (Jessi at The Elliott Review: http://elliottreview.blogspot.com <http://elliottreview.blogspot.com/> )

2 Header/Button Packs (Jessica at Hopelessly Devoted Bibliophile: http://www.hopelessbibliophile.com/)

First 3 chapters Critique (Cindy at Books Complete Me: http://www.bookscompleteme.com/)

First 15 pages Critique (Kari at A Good Addiction: http://agoodaddiction.blogspot.com/)

Signed ARC of Hereafter (Kari at A Good Addiction: http://agoodaddiction.blogspot.com/)

Query Letter Critique (Shannon Messenger: http://ramblingsofawannabescribe.blogspot.com/)

Signed copy of Invincible Summer – US/Can (Hannah Moskowitz: hannahmosk.blogspot.com <http://hannahmosk.blogspot.com/> )

First Chapter Critique and a Skype Chat (Keri Mikulski: http://kerimikulski.com/books/pay-it-forward-the-author-edition/)

Signed copy of Tell Me a Secret with signed TMAS art print – US (Holly Cupala: http://www.hollycupala.com/search/label/blog)

Signed copy of Chasing Brooklyn – US (Lisa Schroeder: www.lisaschroederbooks.com <http://www.lisaschroederbooks.com/> )

The Pledge Swag Pack including ARC (Kimberly Derting: http://kimberlyderting.blogspot.com/)
Daisy Whitney’s Blog: http://daisywhitney.com/blog/

Then, click here to enter the contest. Below are how to earn extra entries.

Earn one extra entry for each of the following:
Take a picture of an author’s book in the wild and tweet it to us and the author
Post a positive Amazon review for a book you loved
Donate a book to a library or classroom
Tweet a good deed you plan to do this week, using the #ANeedSoBeautiful hashtag

Earn 10 extra entries for each of the following:
Take a picture of A NEED SO BEAUTIFUL in the wild and tweet it to us and Suzanne Young
Post an Amazon review for A NEED SO BEAUTIFUL
Donate a copy of A NEED SO BEAUTIFUL to a library or classroom

Happy Release Day, Suzanne! :) :) :)